This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Web Servers

Now that mobile me is going to be closed I want to start a web site for my family tree. I was wondering if anyone had suggestions for an inexpensive web server that would allow me to publish my Reunion tree files to the web. I have looked at .tk which is free which can be use with Dropbox, but have not figured out how to get my Reunion Web cards on it. I also need something that will allow me to use iWeb to create the site. I have very little knowledge of web servers and how to get my Reunion file to the site. I have also looked at "The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding" but this seems counter productive since I have Reunion already.

Re: Web Servers

There are an almost endless number of web hosting companies so it comes down to a matter of reviewing what fits in your budget and meets your needs. There is a web hosting company not far from your location that I am currently using: Webhostinghub.com.
    Tom Brown

Comment

Originally posted by Little Research View Post
      I have also looked at "The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding" but this seems counter productive since I have Reunion already.
      TNG is a GREAT companion to Reunion - I have been using TNG for close to 10 years now to put my Reunion data online. I export a GEDCOM file from Reunion and import that in to TNG to show the data that is presented here

and here

Roger
      Roger Moffat
      http://lisaandroger.com/genealogy/
      http://genealogy.clanmoffat.org/

Comment

I don't put genealogical data on-line. However, for my modest site, I am using software named Sandvox (www.karelia.com/sandvox/) and A2 Hosting(www.a2hosting.com/). (A2 is both Mac and Sandvox friendly and has really good customer service.) Sandvox is similar to iWeb only better. As for A2, without going and checking receipts, I think I am spending roughly $80 annually for "up to 999 pages."