This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Changing blank surnames to Unknown?

In my file are a LOT of people with no surnames. Just so you all don't get the idea I'm a crummy researcher, most of my ancestry is from the Azores and Portugal. In those places. back in time, women rarely had a surname and children were not given one, only taking a surname when they become an adult or they marry. So, I have a ton or more of names with no surname attached.

So, how can I add something to the surname field, such as Unknown, of each person that needs it? Find and Replace doesn't populate the "Replace all occurrences of:" with anything if you leave it blank. Is there any way to do this, short of editing a gedcom, which I REALLY don't want to do?

Thank you to anyone that offer advice on this.
    Kathy
    Reunion 13
    MacBook Air, Mac OS 13.5.2

Re: Change blank surnames to Unknown?

While it's not as nearly as slick as a find and replace, one thing that might bring the task down a notch is to open the people sidebar in a list and sort on the field you want to edit. You can then actually edit the field in the list, at least for names. This puts everything in one place and obviates the need to cycle through person edit panes.
    Tim Lundin
    Heartland Family Graphics
    http://www.familygraphics.com

Comment

Thanks, Tim. That might be how I'll have to do this.
      Kathy
      Reunion 13

Comment

Add me to the list of people who wish that Find and Replace would operate on a blank field!

Roger
        Roger Moffat
        http://lisaandroger.com/genealogy/
        http://genealogy.clanmoffat.org/

Comment

Originally posted by theKiwi View Post
          Add me to the list of people who wish that Find and Replace would operate on a blank field!

Roger
          And me too.
          Réal Rodrigue {Rodrigue, Rioux, Labrecque, Pearson ...}
          http://www.rodrigue.phpnet.org/