Web Project / Website Hosting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Web Project / Website Hosting

I am new to Reunion and want to post my research as a web project to have it available outside of Ancestry. It has been quite a few years since I've toyed with websites. I need recommendations for reasonably priced hosting sites that will allow Reunion 13 to be run. Does anyone have any suggestions? Anything I need to know that you wish you'd known out of the gate? I appreciate any and all help.

When you make a Web Project with Reunion, it will take your data and put them on pages that can then be dealt out by the hosting service. The pages can then be viewed by any browser on any computer. The hosting service does not need to be able to run Reunion. That is one less thing to worry about.

There are many servers that will host people's web sites. I currently have mine at a free server called Rootsweb, but, alas, the party is over. They are closing their doors at the end of the year and I will have to find another server, so I will be looking forward to suggestions from others.

Comment

I see older posts about Wix not allowing the type of file that would be needed, the same with WordPress. So I'm curious about an inexpensive option. I don't have a lot of disposable income to host my work, especially until I see what the traffic looks like.

Comment

​It's true that if you use Wordpress' managed hosting you cannot upload the files generated by Reunion. What you need is a self-hosted Wordpress site (Wordpress.org) that can be hosted on any platform of your choosing. Here is an article that can better explain the difference. https://wordpress.com/go/website-bui...wordpress-org/