Deleting a Connection

Collapse
X
Collapse
 
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Peter Sherman
    Member
    • Mar 2005
    • 27

    #1

    Deleting a Connection

    How do you delete a connection?
    researching:
    RI - Sherman, Sisson, & Briggs
    NH - Currier & Cook
    GA - Hartsfield & Killebrew
  • Bob White
    Member
    • Mar 2005
    • 1727

    #2
    If you do a Quickview of the connected person, you will discover a remove button. First, however, it is suggested that you do a find in the manual on "Connections in the Family View" as there are several points you should review.
    Bob White, Mac Nut Since 1985, Reunion Nut Since 1991
    Computer Guy Since 1966 - Happy Octogenerian
    iMac/MacBookAir M4 - iPhone/iPadPro - Reunion14 & RT

    Comment

    • Peter Sherman
      Member
      • Mar 2005
      • 27

      #3
      Thanks, Bob. I've looked through the manual section on Connections pretty thoroughly (I think).

      For context, the connection I want to delete connected two "people" whom I thought might be the same person, and now that I know they are, I've merged them. The note that contained the connection was deleted in the merge - I suspect I might have been able to delete the connection if I'd opened a Quickview of the connection from within the note before performing the merge, so it seems I've missed that chance. No harm being done, but would be nice to eliminate it now that it serves no purpose. (I did open a Quickview from the sidebar, but no luck there, no reference to the connection at all.)
      researching:
      RI - Sherman, Sisson, & Briggs
      NH - Currier & Cook
      GA - Hartsfield & Killebrew

      Comment

      • Gregg
        Technical Support
        • Feb 2005
        • 735

        #4
        Hi Peter,

        Try choosing File > Rebuild Cache Files from Reunion's main menubar to see if the connection goes away.
        Gregg Witmer
        Leister Productions, Inc.

        Comment

        • Peter Sherman
          Member
          • Mar 2005
          • 27

          #5
          Thanks for the tip, Gregg. I've tried that twice, along with quitting and restarting Reunion, but it doesn't have any effect.
          researching:
          RI - Sherman, Sisson, & Briggs
          NH - Currier & Cook
          GA - Hartsfield & Killebrew

          Comment

          • Blaise A. Darveaux
            Member
            • Mar 2005
            • 362

            #6
            "The note that contained the connection was deleted in the merge"

            Notes from a merge are often put into their own "Merge Notes" note. It doesn't put all the notes from both records into one note field. Not easily seen if you don't know this and are not looking for it. Merging two people should not eliminate any data.

            Comment

            • Peter Sherman
              Member
              • Mar 2005
              • 27

              #7
              Bingo! Thanks, Blaise, for this extra tip. I took another look at the merged person, and saw there were two of the same type of note (I'd missed that before), and the second held the link I'd used to create the connection. I was able to right-click to see a "Remove Link" option, which took care of that, then rebuilt the cache files as Gregg had suggested, and that removed the round, blue connection icon in the record that had been linked originally. Wonderful!

              Thanks all three for your suggestions.
              researching:
              RI - Sherman, Sisson, & Briggs
              NH - Currier & Cook
              GA - Hartsfield & Killebrew

              Comment

              Working...