Advice needed on Changing a Relationship

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice needed on Changing a Relationship

I'm relatively new to Reunion. I find it very intuitive. However I've come across new information in my family tree which alters some relationships, and cannot figure out how to have this reflected in Reunion. All advice welcome. Here is a summary of the issue:
    Peter and Margaret were legally married in 1886. Margaret's son Roy was always passed off as Peter's child, however the family has always been aware that Roy was illegitimate. Recent DNA testing through Ancestry has confirmed that Roy's birth father is a completely different man. Let's call him Albert. (Albert and Margaret were never married.)
    Since Peter and Margaret were legally married, I need to keep that 'husband-wife' relationship intact. However, I need to disconnect Roy from Peter, as there is no biological relationship, while keeping him as Margaret's son. How do I do this? I suspect its a multi-step process.
    As an addendum to this, I will eventually want to create a new 'father' for Roy, one that is not connected by marriage to Margaret.

To fix this in Reunion you need to do the following:

On the family card for Peter and Margaret, drag Roy's button to the Clipboard. This keeps him in the database, but removes him as a child of Peter and Margaret

Still on the same family card, click the brown + sign above Margaret's name and choose "Add New Spouse..."

Give this person a name like "Roy's Dad" or something so you know who it is when you don't actually know who it is

Now go to the Clipboard and drag the link for Roy onto the child area below "Roy's Dad" and Margaret. This will make Roy the child of Roy's Dad and Margaret.

In the button above Roy's Dad and Margaret, click that and then you can set the relationship to "Unmarried".

Roger
    Roger Moffat
    http://lisaandroger.com/genealogy/
    http://genealogy.clanmoffat.org/

Comment