Sosa-Stradonitz / Ahnentafel numbering

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sosa-Stradonitz / Ahnentafel numbering

After almost 30 years of working on my genealogy, I have a rather embarrassing admission to make. Working from many French sources, I started early on using the sosa numbering system that is commonly used in France. I created a special field above "flag" and hand-numbered my ancestors. I wondered what the Ahnentafel system might be but did not really look into it. Plus, I could see that no number was automatically generated, so I didn't worry about it. I have just realized that the two systems are the same thing! I could have saved myself a bit of work, but o well.
    I have some questions, though.

1. Can I generate a report with just numbers and names, in order? Even if I turn off "narrative." I still get a certain amount of bla-bla.
    2. Is there a way to assign numbers to people according to a specific source person so that they are always visible. I know that's what I did, and I don't think I made any mistakes, but it would be useful to have the numbers always in evidence. French people refer to them a lot when comparing notes with hew cousins, for example. As in, Albert is my sosa 48 for example.
    3. In the list I generated by Reunion, a couple doesn't come up as # 14080 and 14081 as they should, but as "parents of #7040". Why is that?

Thanks for any light you can shed on this.

I found the answer to my last question: I hadn't put in for enough generations. I upped it to 14 and they were numbered properly.
    But is there a way to get a report that just gives numbers, names and dates on one line?
    For ex. 241. Marie Charlotte JAILLOT (1754-1823)

Comment

Originally posted by Muriel A View Post
      1. Can I generate a report with just numbers and names, in order? Even if I turn off "narrative." I still get a certain amount of bla-bla.