This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Practices

Is there such a thing as a Reunion list of "best practices"? Like I have said before I am new to Reunion and feeling overwhelmed. I'm spending most of my genealogy time lately entering data and learning all the features. I pick up ideas from this forum but I really am at sea. For example: I was entering census information in Notes but then read that I should be using Events. So working with my granddad's file, I entered all the census info and residence info I had as Census and Residence events. But when I printed out a Family Group Sheet for him it looked pretty awful so i ended up moving everything back to notes.
    But maybe I'm not even supposed to be showing that kind of info on a Family Group Sheet - maybe that should be limited to DOB, DOD, marriage and children.
    There's a user group an hour away but I really cannot justify the drive right now. I wish I had someone to talk all this over with, but I don't.
    So - here I am hoping this is an acceptable forum for my level of questions.
    Thanks for your indulgence.
    Terri Works - Fifth Generation Californian
    Using Reunion 11 and High Sierra OS

Re: Best Practices

First, ReunionTalk is a great place for discussions like these, although to quibble this might be better placed in the Genealogy subforum.

Best practices is a worthy subject, and I'm pretty sure no one has developed a reference document for the forum. Ben Sayer at http://genealogytools.com is often pointed to a place for how to use Reunion, and I believe there's some process info there too.