I just opened Reunion, and every person in the side bar has a duplicate. I know how to delete a person, but do I have to delete each individual person?
Possible causes of the duplication would be inadvertently importing another copy of your family file into the copy you have open, importing a GEDCOM file twice, importing a GEDCOM file containing the same entries as the file you're importing into (e.g. importing a GEDCOM into your family file that you had exported from that same family file), or some variation of those actions.
If you haven't already done so, I'd recommend checking Time Machine for a backup copy of the family file. Perhaps you have a backup made just prior to whatever event (in the above paragraph) resulted in duplicated entries.
If you do have a situation where you need to delete lots of people, you don't have to delete each person individually -- you can mark several people in the file and delete them all at once.
I'd recommend the following:
1 - Backup your family file using:
File -> Save a Backup Copy...
This step is very important. We're about to delete a bunch of data - you'll want a backup in case something goes wrong.
2 - Go to one of the duplicates in the Family View (I'd recommend the one that has the higher Person ID # of the two duplicates, but it doesn't particularly matter).
3 - Go to Mark in the Navbar at left and set the following options:
Code:
Action: Mark
Who: Everyone Linked to...
[The person you selected in step 2]
Unmark everybody first
Hi Mark:
Duh! I have had a Mac since 2009, and the Time Machine just as long. I always seem to forget that it is there! I used the backup, and it worked just as it should have. Thank you so much for your help!!
Comment