PDA

View Full Version : Editing video to import into Reunion

jbkeene
23 February 2006, 03:50 PM
I have just had a VHS tape of an interview with my father put onto a DVD, hoping to edit it and import some of it into Reunion. But I'm stuck at the step before that. The DVD will play with the DVD player, so at least I can view the video. But I'd like to import it into iMovie to edit it. When I try to import it into iMovie, the file names are grayed out. There are six files in a folder called VIDEO_TS and the file names are:
VIDEO_TS.BUP
VIDEO_TS.IFO
VIDEO_TS.VOB
VTS_01_0.BUP
VTS_01_0.IFO
VTS_01_1.VOB
I am a complete novice at movie editing and have no idea what type of files these are or how to import them into iMovie. Can anyone tell me how to do this?
Thanks,
Jocelyn Keene

joeswann
23 February 2006, 05:30 PM
You need to get an application that will rip movies from a DVD. DVDxDV (http://www.dvdxdv.com) does good work. Just get it started and go to bed. You should have a quicktime file iMove can import when you get up in the morning.

Patrick Holcombe
23 February 2006, 06:33 PM
I just used a free program called Handbrake 0.7.1 that also worked well for me. The only issue that I ran into was to have to make sure that a QT compatible movie was ripped. I found this on Version Tracker.
Good Luck.
Patrick

jimrite
23 February 2006, 07:11 PM