PDA

View Full Version : Exporting to World Connect

Patricia
30 December 2005, 12:18 AM
I want to export my Tree from Reunion 8 to world connect ,Is there anything I should be aware of before doing so? As I have said in my last post's I am a Newbie.Patricia

Gergely
30 December 2005, 06:11 PM
I want to export my Tree from Reunion 8 to world connect ,Is there anything I should be aware of before doing so? As I have said in my last post's I am a Newbie.PatriciaPatricia,

I have done what you plan on doing several times. First you need to Export a GEDCOM from Reunion, for upload to World Connect. HOWEVER, I suggest strongly that you use the Advanced Login from World Connect so that you can set more options to apply to the upload. The options are explained by the World Connect page.

For example, you can choose to not allow GEDCOM downloads, or allow partials. You can also choose to not display any information on living individuals (in a cleaner way than Reunion). In fact, I don't even bother to use the living privacy filter from Reunion when I do the upload, as the one from World Connect is better.

My upload can be found at:
http://wc.rootsweb.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi?db=drgnmastr

- Peter

ljirwin42
05 January 2006, 11:03 PM
I want to export my Tree from Reunion 8 to world connect ,Is there anything I should be aware of before doing so? As I have said in my last post's I am a Newbie.PatriciaPatricia,
I agree with all of Peter's points. In addition, you will find that people take down your information, which is fair enough, and use it in their own subsequent postings to WorldConnect, message boards, web sites, etc. WITHOUT any mention of you as the source. This is bad enough as an insult to you who worked on the data. But it also eliminates the value of the information since it is no longer sourced to anything a later researcher might want to check. (Remember the maxim that data without sources is no better than fiction.)