PDA

View Full Version : Coordinating 2 Reunion files

Paul H
30 September 2005, 06:36 PM
Another member of my family is now using Renunion, starting with a family file that I sent her. Since then, she has been making changes against that base file, and I too have made some changes on mine. We would like to keep each other updated with the changes we make. How can we share the information effectively so we can merge changes periodically?

Forgive me if this is obvious or has been previously discussed! I am pretty new to Reunion, and brand new to ReunionTalk!

Deb
04 October 2005, 05:29 PM
Another member of my family is now using Renunion, starting with a family file that I sent her. Since then, she has been making changes against that base file, and I too have made some changes on mine. We would like to keep each other updated with the changes we make. How can we share the information effectively so we can merge changes periodically?Hi Paul,

I have two suggestions:

1. Send a copy of your current files to each other. You would each import the other person's file into a "copy" of your own family file (by choosing File -> Import/Export -> Import Family File). Then use Reunion's Match and Merge feature (choose Find -> Match and Merge People) to find the duplicate records caused by the import and merge the records together. (But, you each may need to compare notes and do a little manual clean-up in your files afterward.)

Information on how to import one Reunion family file into another and how to match and merge records together can be found in the manual. To access it from within your family file, choose Help -> Search the Manual (or click on the Manual button on the toolbar) and search for "import family" and "match merge," respectively.