PDA

View Full Version : Which image file format is better: psd or tiff?

Geoff Tani
18 September 2005, 10:53 PM
I am new to image formats, and I am looking for the image file format that retains the most data about the image. I assumed that either PSD or TIF did this. I further assumed that they were interchangable: that you could save a file to PSD, then convert it to TIF without any loss of data, and vice versa.

I discovered the following when I scan a letter sized document:

Doc scan at 600dpi greyscale saved to TIF = 33MB
Same scan at 600dpi greyscale saved to PSD = 10MB

Given the difference in file sizes, are my assumptions wrong? If I save to PSD, then convert the file to TIF later, will there be loss of data? Is there loss of data going the other way (TIF to PSD)?

Which is the better file format for images? PSD or TIF?

And if PSD and TIF are really the same high quality, how is it that PSD can be so compressed, compared to TIF?

Thanks for your help.

theKiwi
18 September 2005, 11:01 PM
PSD files are usually smaller than TIFF files because the PSD format has compression built into it to make the files smaller. This is lossless compression, and doesn't affect the contents of the file - you can open it, save it close it numerous times without affecting the quality of the image it contains.

TIFF files are not as compressed (if you choose LZW compression) or aren't compressed at all if you don't compress them, and so are much larger, but contain the same information about the image they contain.

If the files are only going to be used by you, save them as PSD files, but if you're going to exchange them with other family members, the TIFF format may be better as it can probably be opened by more different software than can the PSD files.

Roger

Geoff Tani
19 September 2005, 01:50 AM
Thank you very much for the information.