PDA

View Full Version : Best Genealogy Research Program

WELL465d
23 August 2005, 09:23 PM
I am new at this genealogy thing and realize I must join a genealogical research site. I've purchased Reunion and have begun to enter information. However, I soon will need to begin some serious internet research and do not have a clue as to where to spend my money. There are so many genealogical sites.

What service should I purchase to get the biggest bang for my buck and energy spent.

SGilbert
23 August 2005, 11:02 PM
My opinion: Only those that have what you want are worth anything. One never knows! Some allow searching for free to see what they may have.

Personally, I use Ancestry.com, but I am convinced it is way over priced!

I urge you to spend some time going thru: http://cindyslist.com/
to see what is available for your needs and wants, and it has lots of pointers.

artsmart47
24 August 2005, 05:49 PM
I have both Genealogy.com and ancestry.com. I personally like Genealogy better but ancestry has more features for someone who is new to genealogy. Side note, they were 2 separate companies at one point but they are now owned by the same parent company.

Ancestry has upgraded their preview which has helped but there's still things that annoy me. And I believe a "full" subscription is more expensive on Ancestry than on Genealogy. Ancestry does have more census images indexed (1920 and 1930). So there's pros and cons to both. I believe you can get 2 week trials at both sites. You may want to do that first and see which works better for you.

Also, really take the time to search the web. Places like Rootsweb, and USGenWeb are great sites for free stuff.

Joel Weiner
24 August 2005, 06:00 PM