PDA

View Full Version : Need suggestions on how to list dads

Sydney G
25 April 2009, 09:10 PM
As I have said before I am new to Reunion and I could use some suggestions.

I have a women in my file who had an affair. She ended up having a daughter with the other guy. Then her husband adopted the girl. They raised the girl along side there other kids. What is the best way to show that the girl had two dads but one mom?

Thank You,
Sydney G.

SGilbert
25 April 2009, 09:46 PM
The little girl should be linked with her natural parents. Show the parents as unmarried. Then add a spouse for the mother and add "from index" the girl as the child of the new couple and show her as adopted.

If the girl's last name changed due to the adoption, then you have choices. You can use "Jones/Smith"; "Jones->Smith"; "(Jones) Smith"; or some other method of your choosing. Some only use the new legal last name and put the original last name in notes.

Sydney G
25 April 2009, 11:21 PM
The little girl should be linked with her natural parents. Show the parents as unmarried. Then add a spouse for the mother and add "from index" the girl as the child of the new couple and show her as adopted.

Thank you for your help. I listed the girl the way you suggested and now in the Index it says the mother has 5 kids not 4. Is there a way to fix this?

Thank You,
Sydney G.

SGilbert
26 April 2009, 10:21 AM
Is one a duplicate? If so, you likely added the adopted daughter from scratch rather than adding her from the index. Just delete the dup, but make sure the associations on the remaining one are correct.

Sydney G
26 April 2009, 08:10 PM
I am still confused. About what to do or what I did wrong.

1. I added the Husband and Wife.
2. I added the Other Man (The Daughter's Father) as a spouse of the Wife.
3. I added the girl as a daughter of the Other Man and the Wife.