PDA

View Full Version : After ancestry.com

Justin J. Rebbert
23 September 2008, 12:43 PM
As I've mentioned in a couple other threads recently, I'm pretty new to genealogy research. I started by getting the names/relationships of everyone my mother could think of, and added some more people and more details by talking to some other people in my family. I expect to have the living portion of my family tree fairly well filled in by, well, the living people. I guess that makes sense! :)

Going back in time has, of course, been a bit challenging. I got the names of most of my g-grandparent generation and some of my g-g-grandparent generation from my mother. With the names and some estimated dates and known places of birth, I was able to find most of those people, and some others, on ancestry.com.

But now I am wondering what to do next. I seem to have hit the "brick wall" I keep hearing and reading about. I can't find any records on ancestry.com to lead me to my g-g-g-grandparent generation. Most of what I got so far was from census records, so of course there are no parents' names, no maiden names, etc.

Being new to this, I don't know what my next steps should be, and am hoping you all can give me some tips, advice, clues, etc. :)

SGilbert
23 September 2008, 01:46 PM
Have you tried birth certificates? They can provide, if available, a wealth of info. There's also death & marriage certificates. Church records are sometimes useful.

Justin J. Rebbert
23 September 2008, 02:13 PM
No, where and how do I get them?

Can I get one for a man when all I know is his first and last name, year of birth, and city of birth? Can I get one for a woman when that's all I know, minus the last name?

ByronSpoon
23 September 2008, 03:10 PM