PDA

View Full Version : New to genealogy

Justin J. Rebbert
08 September 2008, 10:46 PM
I'm new to genealogy and family tree making. I hope I'm off on the right start with Reunion! I have some questions about how certain things are done that I'm hoping you all can help me with.

1. If a cousin has married someone with children from a previous marriage, should those children be entered into my family file? What about the other parent?

2. Is the general practice of family history research to go straight up from parents to grandparents to great-grandparents and so on, and, at each level, going sideways to siblings, then down those lines to find cousins?

Again, I'm totally new to this, so I imagine I must sound pretty stupid. Hopefully, and with this community's guidance, I'll get right into the groove of this! I'm sure I'll have more questions later.

SGilbert
09 September 2008, 12:57 AM
There's no set way to start, and you'll NEVER finish!

Add your information as you get it.

My philosophy is to seek blood relatives, but add any & all info that "falls in your lap". That included previous marriages, adoptions, divorces, etc.

It all seems quite daunting at 1st, but it will all fall into place quite soon.

Michael Talibard
09 September 2008, 04:47 AM
I agree with SGilbert: there

Gary F
09 September 2008, 07:44 PM
Justin,
As the others have said, there's no right way and a lot depends on how interested you are in finding cousins, etc. Personally, I concentrate on direct lines and, like SGilbert, collect the others if the fall into my lap.

Regarding your first question:

1. If a cousin has married someone with children from a previous marriage, should those children be entered into my family file? What about the other parent?