PDA

View Full Version : Newbie going to a Family Reunion

kevinc
24 July 2008, 01:41 PM
Hello all,

So I am really new to Genealogy. I have always been interested, but haven't had the time (and still really don't). I got hooked on Ancestry.com, which was great because it really got me into this exciting new hobby in a very short amount of time. However, looking at some of the posts here, I know that I need to go back and redo most of the work that I have gathered on there. There is nothing like your own research ;).

I have read through some of the other threads about how to get into doing research and storage of data. But I have a unique opportunity to go to a family reunion and get alot of information in a very short amount of time. And since I have moved out of state from the rest of my family, I won't get this kind of chance again any time soon.

They know that I am coming and that I want to talk with people about family history, but I don't know the best way to go about doing so.

I am taking my macbook pro, a scanner, and a digital voice recorder. I was thinking about starting with some of the older members first and getting any stories they may have about the family recorded. I was also going to see if any of them have documents like birth/death/marriage/church/pictures that I could scan in. Or maybe I need to start with pedigree charts? Just getting names/dates?

I am feeling a little overwhelmed and just wondering if someone has some advice/experience.

Thanks.

Bob White
24 July 2008, 03:53 PM
Been in your shoes. Put your priority on asking questions and recording the information. You have plenty of time to update your Mac later.

Print out a family tree to spread on a table or tape up on a wall. This is a real ice breaker. I've told people to feel free to write on it but "please please sign your name to the notes that you added" so that I know who to followup with later.