PDA

View Full Version : Family research

FRED DYKHUIZEN
23 June 2005, 08:30 AM
I am researching the family of Paul C. Dobard born about 1873 in Louisiana. He was married to Lily Schwartz....and raised a family in New Orleans.

I reached a dead end....but do have marriage data 30June1894. Throughly researched through Ancestry.com subscription to no avail.

Can actual birth and/or death certificates be viewed online?

I am new at this... and would appreciate help re: next step to take. Thanks...

Derrick
23 June 2005, 09:06 AM
I've done some Louisiana research, so here's a bit of what I know. New Orleans data seems to be very accessible on-line compared to lots of other places.

NOLA Birth/death/marriage digests are available via the USGenWeb for free. Here's a search engine:
http://www.rootsweb.com/~usgenweb/la/orleans/orl_search.htm
and here's the project for the whole state, which has lots of great stuff on it:
http://www.lagenweb.org/
You probably already have much of this from Ancestry, but there is other stuff here as well.

To order vital records, go to here:

http://www.sec.state.la.us/archives/archives/archives-library.htm

You cannot see them on-line; download a .pdf form to download and mail in. There is more data on the certificates than the index gives--parent's names, for instance. This is where you go to order Confederate records and pension applications as well as copies of birth/death/marriage certificates. They all seem to be cheaper here than at other sites which will order vital recs. for you, or places like the Daughters of the Confederacy. If you have more than 5 to order, don't put them on separate forms. This is, btw, only for records more than 100 years old.

Best of luck!

STEVE
24 June 2005, 03:18 PM
I am researching the family of Paul C. Dobard born about 1873 in Louisiana. He was married to Lily Schwartz....and raised a family in New Orleans.