PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs advice on getting started (and Ancestry.com)...

CallMeAl
08 November 2007, 04:08 PM
Hello all, I am new to genealogy research. It all seems quite overwhelming. I have Reunion and have put in some of the info I know. I need to become more familiar with the Reunion program.

Any advice on keeping it simple in the beginning would be helpful. Do you have any favorite books or websites for beginners?

Also, I thought joining Ancestry.com might be an option, but have read some nightmare stories about scams, unauthorized credit card billing and being subject to endless e-mails and spam. Plus, I read this at the BBB site:

http://www.saltlakecity.bbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=2003190

Is it really as bad as all that?

Bill Nash
08 November 2007, 06:50 PM
Hello all, I am new to genealogy research. It all seems quite overwhelming. I have Reunion and have put in some of the info I know. I need to become more familiar with the Reunion program.

Any advice on keeping it simple in the beginning would be helpful. Do you have any favorite books or websites for beginners?

Also, I thought joining Ancestry.com might be an option, but have read some nightmare stories about scams, unauthorized credit card billing and being subject to endless e-mails and spam. Plus, I read this at the BBB site:

I read the BBB report. Actually, considering, as they say, the volume of business done by Ancestry it didn't seem like many complaints for a three year period. I have dealt with the public on occasion and there are always a few people who will never be satisfied no matter what you do or offer. Some are just grumpy and others are out to get something for free.