PDA

View Full Version : Need software suggestion(s)

Steve W. Jackson
13 August 2007, 06:34 PM
I'm planning my purchase of a shiny new MacBook Pro in the relatively near future. I want to get some new software for use in my task of mailing notices for an annual family reunion. Does anyone have any suggestions for good software for this purpose?

I'm currently keeping the address information in an AppleWorks 6 database but want to leave that behind and get iWorks '08. Although I don't currently have need of them, I'm not averse to software that supports some other reunion planning features -- it's just that my primary interest at first is on the mailing list.

While I am an experienced developer, I would prefer something off the shelf. But I'll also consider databases or other ideas -- I'm not ruling out anything for the moment. I'd appreciate any and all suggestions from my fellow Reunion users in this area.

= Steve =

SGilbert
13 August 2007, 07:43 PM
Want tons of graphics and options to use them? "The Print Shop"

Otherwise, just for mailing lists and an occasional graphic; stick with AW.

Bob Goode
13 August 2007, 10:01 PM
Steve,
If you are definitely going to get iWorks 8, then look at the two parts of Pages. It now has both word processing and page layout functions. In the word processing section it has envelope templates. You should be able to export all your addresses in Reunion to Pages or from Appleworks to Pages and then set up your addresses in the envelope template of your choice.

If this approach does not satisfy your purpose, I am sure others will have other software suggestions, but you may want to explore Pages first before investing in additional software.

I am converting all my Appleworks files over to Pages.

Bob

joeswann
14 August 2007, 02:31 PM
There's always FileMaker Pro.

Steve W. Jackson
14 August 2007, 02:51 PM
Want tons of graphics and options to use them? "The Print Shop"