PDA

View Full Version : Dealing with long genealogy lists

tals28
03 August 2007, 07:12 PM
I'm new to Reunion 9 for Mac. Been attempting to make entries that will eventually go back to the 10th century. Heavy on documentation with each generation. What's the best way to start all of this?

Do I make separate family files for each and combine them down the road?

Or do I start at my source and then work backwards?

Basically I have 4 - 6 main families that all then go back. Although each does go back that far. You're talking a heck of a lot of information. So what is the best way?

Thanks,
Micheal

genealogist.lily
06 August 2007, 06:16 PM
I'm new to Reunion 9 for Mac. Been attempting to make entries that will eventually go back to the 10th century. Heavy on documentation with each generation. What's the best way to start all of this?
Basically I have 4 - 6 main families that all then go back. Although each does go back that far. You're talking a heck of a lot of information. So what is the best way?
Thanks,
Micheal

My vote: Reunion doesn't care how big your file becomes - it has an enormous capacity. So put it all together. Otherwise you won't remember where you put certain names and will end up with duplicates. Down the road merging will be a headache all by itself. So create one file - open it - and begin working without worrying about smaller collateral files. This is the voice of experience speaking here... I deeply regret the extra files I created.
Lily

Mary Arthur
06 August 2007, 07:14 PM

Thanks,
Micheal
Yes.

If you ever want just one line, it is easy to mark them and get a report. I can think of no reason to have more than one file if there are any overlaps - actually, I can't really see a need for more than one file at all if you are the only researcher (two people may feel the need, altho even then, I would be tempted to only have one file).

Tim Powys-Lybbe
06 August 2007, 07:52 PM

Thanks,
Micheal