PDA

View Full Version : Using Reunion 9 with .Mac


stlguy_57
22 May 2007, 08:44 PM
Has anyone had any experience with using Reunion with .Mac. I work between my desktop and laptop and would like to use my laptop when visiting relatives or when out of the house on a relative hunting trip.

I didn't know if the info would synch properly if the familyfile was placed on the .Mac server and synched with the last updated file just like the other processes. If anyone has any experience with this, please let me know.

Thanks much.

Bill

Nick
23 May 2007, 06:45 PM
In my experience the .Mac synch process works fine. Never had a problem. But I don't use it because it's impossibly slow.

I synch almost daily between my home and office computers using a USB memory key. Never had a problem, for years, whatever the dire warnings are about doing such a thing. If anything were to go wrong, well, you have the original file on the other computer. In this way I always have a back up file handy. And I regularly back up to read-only CD as well - so I have dozens of CD's of my family file going back nearly ten years, for what it's worth!

Janet Mobley
26 May 2007, 11:42 PM
Nick,

I have my files posted to my .Mac account. Take a look here:

http://homepage.mac.com/janmobley/home.htm

I don't know how this would make any difference on your laptop when visiting relatives. I want to see Dual Platform's web site as I've just put up a site for an organization I'm in by using iWeb.

Janet

Janet Mobley
26 May 2007, 11:44 PM
Has anyone had any experience with using Reunion with .Mac. I work between my desktop and laptop and would like to use my laptop when visiting relatives or when out of the house on a relative hunting trip.

I didn't know if the info would synch properly if the familyfile was placed on the .Mac server and synched with the last updated file just like the other processes. If anyone has any experience with this, please let me know.

Thanks much.

Bill

Oops, Bill. I posted my answer to you on Nick's thread.

Janet

kyuck
27 May 2007, 01:17 AM
Snip---http://homepage.mac.com/janmobley/home.htm---Snip

I can't get on to your web site using that URL. I get this message

WERE SORRY but we can't find the HomePage you've requested. It's possible that:

Deb
27 May 2007, 09:37 PM
I can't get on to your web site using that URL. I get this message

WERE SORRY but we can't find the HomePage you've requested...Try this link...

http://homepage.mac.com/janmobley/home.html

kyuck
27 May 2007, 11:30 PM
Try this link...

http://homepage.mac.com/janmobley/home.html
Thanks Deb!

Janet Mobley
29 May 2007, 09:53 PM
Kevan,

Deb beat me to the corrections. I lopped off the final "l" as it should have been: http://homepage.mac.com/janmobley/home.html

I used the first sample page and put in my big oak trees and changed the name of the tree to "img/lp_icegreen.jpg" as I didn't like any of the themes. It finally worked the way I wanted.

Janet