PDA

View Full Version : Huge databases - what for?

Michael Talibard
07 April 2007, 02:51 PM
In Using Reunion 9, because of slow updating of very long indexes (indices?), there have been a lot of posts recently mentioning databases with tens or even hundreds of thousands of people.

I am relatively new to genealogy, and have never had the opportunity to talk with anyone who had such a large database. I find it puzzling. My own modest collection of a few hundred have all been directly checked in the appropriate Registry office or equivalent by either my sister or myself. The database is thus a record of our personal researches and we KNOW exactly how we are related to those people.

The time required to do this for 100,000 people would be such that I just can't believe it has happened - unless there are large teams of researchers working in consort. Otherwise, one would need to work every day throughout a more than natural lifespan. And there are always some facts one just can't unearth. So how are all these names asembled? Are they 'borrowed'? I wouldn't put any name in my family file unless I knew pretty directly that it belonged. And why keep all those thousands of names in a single family file? I just don't get it.

In asking this, I am not criticising anybody else's way of using Reunion: it is a free country. I am asking only because I genuinely don't understand the purpose of that sort of file.

Dennis J. Cunniff
07 April 2007, 05:02 PM
Well, only large databases allow answers to questions like, "Who are some famous descendants of X & Y ?"

In honor of Jersey, let's pick Sir Philip de Carteret and his wife Rachel Paulet.

Imagine you're their descendant. Who else is? If you've got a database related only to your direct ancestors, your answer has to be "I don't know". If you have a larger database, including descendants of your ancestors other than yourself, you can answer "Alexandra Shan

ttl
07 April 2007, 06:31 PM