PDA

View Full Version : Citing Sources - newbie querie

Karen Hewett
26 March 2007, 12:10 PM
Hi! I am new to genealogy and Reunion, and loving them both. I have been working with Reunion 8 for a few months, and just got the Reunion 9 upgrade. So far I have just been adding data, but now I want to cite my sources, and I'm a little lost. I hope this does not make me sound dense or clueless, but I need help understanding what data belongs in the different Reunion source fields.

Some fields like "title" and "author" are self explanatory, but I am a little confused by others. For instance, a vital record source type has fields for "locality", "register", "media type" and "location of source". Is "locality" the place the event happened, or the place that issued the vital record? Or is that the "location of source"? What if I have an original copy of a record issued from a office out of state? Or perhaps a photocopy of an original (supplied by a relative)? What does "register" refer to? Is "media type" for identifying whether my source is the original document, or a copy?

I have looked in the manual, and it gives great examples for citing publications and letters and the like, but I have not found examples of vital records or what the different fields should contain. I hope someone can help clarify this for me. I appreciate any help to understand this. Thanks so much!

Mary Arthur
26 March 2007, 07:52 PM
Hi! I am new to genealogy and Reunion, and loving them both. I have been working with Reunion 8 for a few months, and just got the Reunion 9 upgrade. So far I have just been adding data, but now I want to cite my sources, and I'm a little lost.

Get Evidence! by Elizabeth Shown Mills (Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Evidence-Citation-Analysis-Family-Historian/dp/0806315431)

It needs study, but it will be worth it in the longrun.

MabryBenson
26 March 2007, 08:37 PM