PDA

View Full Version : Newbie query

WadesDad
06 January 2007, 12:55 PM
Dear Friends,

I'm new to genealogy, to Reunion (which I haven't purchased yet), and to this forum. While I'm searching and reading threads herein, I'm hoping you'll forgive my posting a query that has probably been discussed many times.

My question is probably ~as "newbie" as it gets...

I've recently begun researching my family's history, and am starting to consider how best to share what I learn with others. I've already discovered a few generations of genealogy data

SGilbert
06 January 2007, 02:10 PM
I get the impression that you are jumping the gun far too soon. You haven't even collected enough info to post anything as yet.

I suggest you get Reunion and enter all that you do have. That way you will know what you do NOT have. start searching for info on anything that is blank. Web, email, letters, phone calls, library, cemeteries, LDS files, Ancestry.com; just a few resources available to you.

When you have sufficient information AND enough interest to others, THEN decide where and how to distribute it.

theKiwi
06 January 2007, 03:35 PM
I'd suggest you "get published" as soon as you're comfortable with using Reunion to keep track of your family data as it's gathered.

This gets you a foothold in cyberspace if you decide to publish that way, and my recommendation is that you should publish in cyberspace - at least as your first method. That lets people find you, no matter where they are - and it's an absolute certainty that you have relatives, some of them not very distant even, living in places you can't even begin to guess at.

I created my first web site within a month or two of AOL allowing members to have web sites. Onto that I put my genealogy data as it was at the time using a software called SparrowHawk, and pretty soon it was indexed by that new upstart Google.

That has led to a slow but steady stream of contacts that have supplied me with more information about our family.