PDA

View Full Version : OS9 & OSX cooperation?

SGilbert
02 April 2005, 04:18 PM
I have a dual-boot TiBook, but found out that Reunion will NOT work on both at the same time, so I deleted the OSX version. Seems the X version changes the "family file", and then the OS9 version will not work.

Has anyone an idea how to be able to use the same family file is both OSs?

Bob White
03 April 2005, 03:47 AM
I don't even understand why you would want to run in both OS'. To my knowledge, there is no advantage to this plan.

SGilbert
03 April 2005, 01:32 PM
Well, let me attempt to explain.

I've been an Apple user since the Apple II days. Learned computing by the school of hard knocks (crashes) mostly with OS9. I'm no expert, but if anything ever happens with 9 (and it does!), I can "diddle & fiddle" my way back to health quite easily, as it is easily customizable and forgiving. NOT SO with OSX! I am also the unofficial Apple guru and updater of 4 other Macs in the household, in addition to 5-6 friends/relatives. ALL OS9.

As for Reunion, my wife and I are both active genealogists with our individual families. I do her entering for her family on my computer, and transfer the family card to her computer (Powerbook G3 Pismo-OS9 only) weekly. I am the "keeper" of the "master lists".

Only for the apps and features in X do I reboot to it. Call me old fashioned, stubborn, antiquated, or whatever---I prefer 9 to X 98% of the time.

OS9 is NOT DEAD!!

Al Cooper
03 April 2005, 04:05 PM

I've been an Apple user since the Apple II days. Learned computing by the school of hard knocks (crashes) mostly with OS9. I'm no expert, but if anything ever happens with 9 (and it does!), I can "diddle & fiddle" my way back to health quite easily, as it is easily customizable and forgiving. NOT SO with OSX! I am also the unofficial Apple guru and updater of 4 other Macs in the household, in addition to 5-6 friends/relatives. ALL OS9.