PDA

View Full Version : How do you avoid conflict in a family file when 2 devices have access simultaneously


Denis Bourque
19 April 2018, 07:10 PM
I use Reunion Touch on iPad and iPhone and my daughter and I use Reunion on our Macs all sharing the same family files via Dropbox. When she or I try to open a family file on Reunion on our Mac which is open on Reunion on the other Mac, a message appears informing us of the conflict and informing/requesting one of us to close the file before the other can access it. This is good, because we don't want to be editing the same person at the same time - problems would follow.

However, this doesn't happen with Reunion Touch. Whenever I open a family file with Reunion Touch which is already open on one of the Macs or on the other mobile device, I don't get such a warning of a conflict. The file opens and can be edited.

How does Reunion Touch prevent conflicts - such as the one I mention above - if the same file is open on more than one device?

Denis

Mark
20 April 2018, 11:47 AM
Hi Denis,

How does Reunion Touch prevent conflicts - such as the one I mention above - if the same file is open on more than one device?

Changes made in ReunionTouch are written out to a file inside the family file package - Reunion 12 family files are actually packages, which are basically folders that contain several other files/folders but appear as a single file on your Mac (similar to the Photos Library). ReunionTouch isn't writing directly to the main data file, rather, it writes out to a "changes" folder and when you open the file on a Mac it reads in those "changes" and writes them to the main file.

On the Mac, however, changes are written directly to the main data file. That's why you can't have the family file open on two Macs at once, but you can have it open in ReunionTouch on multiple devices.

HTH

Maurice Mézière
21 April 2018, 01:19 PM
Hi Denis,

ReunionTouch isn't writing directly to the main data file, rather, it writes out to a "changes" folder and when you open the file on a Mac it reads in those "changes" and writes them to the main file.

On the Mac, however, changes are written directly to the main data file. That's why you can't have the family file open on two Macs at once, but you can have it open in ReunionTouch on multiple devices.

HTH

Hello,

Considering the answer, I wonder which change is kept by the file when 2 people work on the same person at the same time, one on a Mac and one on another device?
What happens if, during or before the sync, I start working on my Mac on somebody I was working on on the iPad ? This may occur when I've been away from wi-fi.

I hope I'm clear enough.

Mark
23 April 2018, 12:08 PM
Hi Maurice,
Considering the answer, I wonder which change is kept by the file when 2 people work on the same person at the same time, one on a Mac and one on another device?
The most recent change is kept. Note that is on a per-field basis so, for example, if you changed the Birth field and they changed the Death field both changes would show up. But if you change the Birth, then they change that same field, their change would be kept (being the most recent).

What happens if, during or before the sync, I start working on my Mac on somebody I was working on on the iPad ?If you make a change to the same field as you made a change to on the iPad, the change made on your Mac would be kept (assuming it was made after the change on the iPad, which seems to be the case here).

HTH

Denis Bourque
24 April 2018, 08:08 PM
Hi Maurice,

The most recent change is kept. Note that is on a per-field basis so, for example, if you changed the Birth field and they changed the Death field both changes would show up. But if you change the Birth, then they change that same field, their change would be kept (being the most recent).

If you make a change to the same field as you made a change to on the iPad, the change made on your Mac would be kept (assuming it was made after the change on the iPad, which seems to be the case here).

HTHThanks Mark,

i want to make sure I get this straight, because I'll be travelling soon, using the iPad off Wifi during the day, when I'll be collecting information - hence updating 'fields' within Reunion Touch, as you've mentioned. Then, when I get back to the hotel with Wifi (or if I get a Wifi connection during the day, at a restaurant or library, for instance), am I to presume that the modified fields will be uploaded at that time to my Dropbox's Reunion family files. And when I eventually get back to my Mac (connected to my Dropbox account) and open those family files within Reunion 12, those "field' changes which have been uploaded to the Dropbox will be downloaded and incorporated into the Mac's Reunion family files. Is that correct?

I just want to be sure I have the sequence correct so that I don't inadvertently overwrite data I collected during the day.

Regards,

Denis

Mark
25 April 2018, 01:56 PM
Then, when I get back to the hotel with Wifi (or if I get a Wifi connection during the day, at a restaurant or library, for instance), am I to presume that the modified fields will be uploaded at that time to my Dropbox's Reunion family files.If you make changes while not connected to WiFi, once reconnected to WiFi, you will need to open ReunionTouch in order for the changes to get synced to Dropbox.

Note that this is different on the Mac: because Dropbox handles the syncing on the Mac, it will automatically sync once reconnected to the internet - whereas on the iPad, ReunionTouch can only sync while it's open.
And when I eventually get back to my Mac (connected to my Dropbox account) and open those family files within Reunion 12, those "field' changes which have been uploaded to the Dropbox will be downloaded and incorporated into the Mac's Reunion family files. Is that correct?Yes - assuming Dropbox is running on the Mac, it will see that there are changes and download those changes to your Mac. Reunion on your Mac will then read in those changes and apply them to the main data file.

HTH

Denis Bourque
25 April 2018, 06:45 PM
If you make changes while not connected to WiFi, once reconnected to WiFi, you will need to open ReunionTouch in order for the changes to get synced to Dropbox.

...
assuming Dropbox is running on the Mac, it will see that there are changes and download those changes to your Mac. Reunion on your Mac will then read in those changes and apply them to the main data file.

HTHMany thank Mark. Much appreciated.

Denis

Maurice Mézière
01 May 2018, 05:37 AM
Hi Maurice,

The most recent change is kept.

HTH

Hi Mark,

Thanks for your answer.
For some reason I didn't get the digest where it was in. So I got it with later details.

A last question: am I right when I think all information changed in whatever device are timestamped and these timestamps are the base to sync the file ?

Mark
01 May 2018, 10:43 AM
A last question: am I right when I think all information changed in whatever device are timestamped and these timestamps are the base to sync the file ?Correct :)

Maurice Mézière
03 May 2018, 09:02 AM
Correct :)

Thanks Mark.
This will help my practice.