PDA

View Full Version : Conflict Created


Daggers
12 July 2016, 02:59 PM
My wife and I did a no no. We, inadvertently worked on the same family file at the same time creating a conflict with the result that nothing from the iPad synced to the Mac and I am assuming from the Mac to the iPad. The newest information happens to be on the iPad. How can we transfer that new information to the Mac from the iPad? It synced okay between the iPad and iPhone. We never got a message stating the there were two files open a the same time only the occasional pop up window with a partial message about updating the conflicted files. Tried clicking on those windows but never really saw the entire message. Help please - we entered over 150 new family members on the iPad.

Mark
12 July 2016, 04:52 PM
Hi,

How can we transfer that new information to the Mac from the iPad?It's not possible to force a transfer of the information.

I would recommend sending a current copy of your family file to us, as outlined in this FAQ (http://www.leisterpro.com/doc/version11/questions/answers/sendff.php). We'll take a look at it here and see what we can do to restore/sync the lost data.

Thanks,

Daggers
13 July 2016, 12:15 AM
Hi,

It's not possible to force a transfer of the information.

I would recommend sending a current copy of your family file to us, as outlined in this FAQ (http://www.leisterpro.com/doc/version11/questions/answers/sendff.php). We'll take a look at it here and see what we can do to restore/sync the lost data.

Thanks,
Hi Mark
Thanks for your prompt reply. I understand your solution but I think we will simply enter the information again. Lots of personal information in the family file that we would not like to be floating around. Also understand that nothing could or would be shared from your end but we just will feel safer doing our own fix. Thanks again for your help

Mark
13 July 2016, 12:27 PM
I understand your solution but I think we will simply enter the information again.Ok :)

Just to be clear, the conflict was created by editing the file on multiple Macs at the same time. In the future, if both of you would like to work on the same file at the same time that can be done - but at least one of you will need to use ReunionTouch to make the changes. ReunionTouch is specifically designed to allow for multiple people to make changes to the same file simultaneously; it's only when two people make changes to the same file via Reunion 11 on a Mac that a conflict can occur.

HTH

Daggers
13 July 2016, 05:50 PM
Ok :)

Just to be clear, the conflict was created by editing the file on multiple Macs at the same time. In the future, if both of you would like to work on the same file at the same time that can be done - but at least one of you will need to use ReunionTouch to make the changes. ReunionTouch is specifically designed to allow for multiple people to make changes to the same file simultaneously; it's only when two people make changes to the same file via Reunion 11 on a Mac that a conflict can occur.

HTH
Thanks again Mark
Yes, our problem was caused by my wife using Reunion touch to make changes and I was using our Mac to do the same. So if I use my iPhone and iPad at the same time, everything will work okay?

Mark
14 July 2016, 01:50 PM
So if I use my iPhone and iPad at the same time, everything will work okay?Correct :)

A Hougie
14 July 2016, 02:06 PM
Is it really correct? Daggers said that "our problem was caused by my wife using Reunion touch to make changes and I was using our Mac to do the same". I thought that should not create a problem.

Mark
14 July 2016, 02:51 PM
Daggers said that "our problem was caused by my wife using Reunion touch to make changes and I was using our Mac to do the same".The fact that his wife was modifying the file in ReunionTouch at the same time as he was modifying it on his Mac would not have caused the problem. I misunderstood the original issue when replying yesterday - it was not the "conflicted copy" situation that I thought, which is something that could arise when modifying a file on two Macs at the same time.

Unfortunately I can't be sure as to exactly what happened to cause the syncing to stop - we would have to take a look at the file here in order to try to determine the exact cause.

Daggers: One thing I would highly recommend is to ensure you have the latest version of Reunion 11, 11.0.8 (http://www.leisterpro.com/doc/version11/download.php).