Windows genealogy software?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Windows genealogy software?

My son would like a copy of our family history. He has a Windows PC, and I use Reunion, so it will have to be via GEDCOM.
    Export from Reunion is no problem, but choosing an application for him to get the best outcome is, as I have no experience. We have tried RootsMagic Essentials as we can both use it, but it will not import source citations in notes. The Mac version seems a bit old fashioned to me; it looks very like a Classic app running in an emulation bottle. I don’t know if the paid-for version is any better.
    As the field is wide open, what would you recommend? He is pretty tech savvy but a newcomer to genealogy.

Re: Windows genealogy software?

If he wants to enter and maintain data, I'll defer to others to suggest a solution, but if he just wants access to your work and has an iPhone, you can set up a copy of your family file just for him in Dropbox and he can see just about everything with ReunionTouch.
    Tim Lundin
    Heartland Family Graphics
    http://www.familygraphics.com

Comment

Originally posted by ttl View Post
      If he wants to enter and maintain data, I'll defer to others to suggest a solution, but if he just wants access to your work and has an iPhone, you can set up a copy of your family file just for him in Dropbox and he can see just about everything with ReunionTouch.
      I wish it was that easy! No, he’s doesn’t have either an iPhone or an iPad. So it will all have to go on his desktop.

Comment

Originally posted by John Hill View Post
        ...As the field is wide open, what would you recommend?...
        Before crossing over from the Dark Side (Windows), I used a fine program called Brother's Keeper (http://bkwin.com/). It's available as shareware to try out before you buy.
        Steve Thomas
        iMac and MacBook Pro, macOS Ventura 13.5, iPhone 12 Pro Max iOS 16.6, iPad Pro, Reunion 13 and Reunion Touch.