Android alternatives?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Android alternatives?

Long time user of Apple products and the Reunion apps. I am sticking with Apple laptops (and Reunion) but switching my phone to Android. The one app I can't replace is the mobile version of Reunion! I didn't realize how great it was until I started looking for alternatives.

All I want it a mobile app that will read my gedcom file and display it for reference. I don't care about fancy features or even viewing trees. But I do absolutely need birthdays and people's current ages listed. I've tried a few apps and no one seems to offer ages. I have a big family and I'm not good at remembering how old people are.

If I can't find this I might keep carrying two phones, absurd as that would be. Would appreciate any tips.
    Beth

Re: Android alternatives?

A less expensive solution, while still needing two devices, is to buy a used iPad. It will run Filemaker and VoodooPad and you can access TNG as long as you have an Internet connection. Just make sure the iPad is new enough to run ReunionTouch also.

BTW, I predict you will eventually return to the iPhone. It is very inconvenient to coordinate basics like contacts and calendars between two platforms.
    Bob White, Mac Nut Since 1985, Reunion Nut Since 1991
    Jenanyan, Barnes, White, Duncan, Dunning, Luce, Hedge and more
    iMac/MacBookAir M1 - iPhonePro/iPadPro - Reunion13 & RT

Comment

Thanks. Yes, I do have an iPad. But I don't carry it every day, and often don't take it on vacations because I travel very light.

Over years of using an iPhone, I have always maintained the Google calendar rather than Apple's, and my contacts are also in a cross-platform app that works on iOS, Android and both desktops. So I don't see that being an issue.