X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are my trees ready to publish?

Hello to all
    In my posted reply to 'Venting', to Susan in particular, I am adding my two pennies worth.
    I started to compile a sample of my family record to be included in a small book for my family members.
    Like the others, included on this theme, I have been torn between a large collection of detail on each person and tree picture, OR a simple decendents record of my own branch.
    I don't have an extensive number of people on my tree, just 953.
    I consider that enough as my family contacts have not born fruit at all. None of my family so far have any interest in genealogy nor Apple computers, so I am just about to finish my efforts with a book. The style and makeup is yet to be determined. Another important point, is it to be printed or in digital form and in which format etc.?

I have had extensive experience with newsletters and journals for societies etc with PCs and I know my Macs now very well after about 6 yrs. I have, and understand most aspects of Adobe Photoshop Elements but have not used it for yrs. I have found Apple's Aperture to suit my photo needs.
    I have iBooks Author and have started to make my story book.
    Not the easiest program to use but I have done 6 pages. That was about 12 months ago. Found that copying my own notes onto paper to edit properly, than to copy and paste into their templates etc and then try and edit. It works ok but nowhere near what I want yet.

I understand the limitations of the finished iBooks product.
    Some key points in any publications is to nut out the content on paper first.
    Questions like, how many generations, how much of each person to include, which photos suit the narrative etc.
    Most importantly, to whom is this intended and in which format?
    I shall restrict myself severely to my side of the tree from Great Grandfather to my grandchildren. At 79 yrs I am one of the eldest of my line.