This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

drag and drop of census images from Ancestry

In the Reunion FAQ on the Leisterpro.com Web site, there is a section on moving your tree from Ancestry into Reunion. In about the middle of the page, it states:

"If you locate an image (such as a census record) on Ancestry.com and want to add that image to somebody in Reunion, it's a simple matter of dragging-and-dropping the full-res image from the web page on Ancestry.com onto a person's button in Reunion. By doing this, Reunion will download and save a copy of the image file and create a link from the person to the image file."

I have tried to drag the census image many times and it just moves the image off the screen (so you can no longer see most of it), and I have never been able to "drag and drop" it to the person's button.

What am I doing wrong? I'm not a novice at Reunion (although I don't likely use many of its more advanced features) and I am very familiar with dragging and dropping.

Do I first have to download the image? That isn't as much of a time saver as that statement leads me to believe. But again, I must be missing something?? I know this community can tell me what I'm doing wrong. (BTW: I did try to search the ReunionTalk archives, but didn't find this specific issue addressed. Hope I didn't somehow miss it.]

Regards,

Vicki
    Vicki Hanrahan Ainslie
    Decatur, Georgia

Re: drag and drop of census images from Ancestry

Somewhere along the way, I suppose this option changed.

Ancestry still lets you drag and drop full-res photos uploaded by members, but not full-res census images.

With Ancestry's current census viewer, it looks like they require that you click the Tools button, along the upper-right side of the census image, and then select the Download option.

If you're using Safari, for example, this will put the image file into your Downloads folder.